Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

3 Ways to Unlock New Characters in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is a game smash with the highest number of characters. There are a total of 72 characters that you can play with and that number will obviously increase over time.

But when you start playing Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, you can only use eight characters. They are Mario, Link, Samus, Pikachu, Yoshi, Kirby, Donkey Kong, and Fox McCloud. To be able to use other characters, you must first unlock them in one of the three ways below.

World of Light

In World of Light, you will enter a overworld. Starting the game as Kirby, all your friends are captured and controlled by the Spirit of the Master Hand. Your job is obviously to save them.

During the journey you will meet several opponents. The majority of these opponents will give you a new Spirit if you can defeat them. After a while you will find encounter face the captured character. Defeat the opponent then to get the character.

After being defeated, the character will enter the roster characters that you can use in all game modes. Besides that, you can also use this character in World of Light if you don’t really like using Kirby.

Classic Mode

In Classic Mode, you are asked to choose one of the characters that you have at that time. Your task is to win six battles, passing one bonus stageand one boss fight.

You can determine the level of difficulty of the opponent by sliding the mural to start the journey. Every time you finish a battle, the Mural will move and the opponent’s difficulty level becomes a little more difficult.

After completing Classic Mode with one character, you will be challenged by a new character. Defeat the character with the character you use in Classic Mode. After that you will get a new character.

Whatever level of difficulty you choose in Classic Mode, you will still be challenged by new characters. So you can save time by choosing the lowest difficulty level and slaughtering all your opponents.

Regular Smash

You can also be challenged by new characters if you play in regular Smash mode. The game will read how far you run/walk in battle. If you’ve covered enough distance, new characters will challenge you.

There are no exact figures on how far to travel. But usually two or three regular matches are enough to unlock a new character. Next, just beat the challenging character and get the character.

One thing that is interesting and you have to anticipate is that although you can bring up new character challengers in an easy way, the characters themselves are not easily defeated. You may lose and have to try again. But if you are patient and play smart, sooner or later you will definitely win.

So, have you unlocked all the characters?